Strangefruitmusic's Blog

December 20, 2010, 10:47 am
Filed under: Download, dubstep, Electronic, grime, music | Tags:

Just grabbed this goody as fast as I could and after some heavy headnodding …I had to share. To just use Mr. Jay Souls’ description…Hot off the press.. Some pretty nasty filhty sleazy bass heavy stuff by a sunglasses wearing gangster pig. Play loud and make your xmas tree shake… Ho Ho Ho.

For those not yet familiar with Mr Jay Soul. He is a music producer & dj from Amsterdam. Styles ranging from real hip-hop to afro flavored deep house, jazzy soul, broken beat, dusty disco, latin beats and more.

if you press the arrow on the right side of the soundcloud music wave (you know…the small one underneath the info button) you can download this straight to your computer!!

Kode9 – Asia promo mix by strangefruitmusic
December 6, 2010, 10:42 pm
Filed under: dubstep, uk funky | Tags: ,

Fresh mix by Kode 9 made especially for Sub-Culture (Shanghai), Kongkrete Bass (HongKong) and Dubplate (Manila)!

1. Morgan Zarate – Hookid 
2. Addison Groove – Nautilus 
3. Joe – Claptrap 
4. Wiley – Eskimo (Devil mix) 
5. Terror Danjah – SOS 
6. Endgames – Ecstasy (Jam City rmx) 
7. DVA – Step 2 Funk 
8. Funkystepz – Fuller 
9. Redlight – What U Talkin About (Roska rmx) 
10. Ossie – Set the Tone 
11. DVA feat. Fatima – Just Vybe (Soulepower mix) 
12. LV feat. Omkalumkoolkat – Boomslang 
13. Lone – Pineapple Crush 
14. Terror Danjah – I’m Feelin U 
15. Mala – Don’t Let Me Go 
16. Riko – Woo Freestyle 
17. Terror Danjah – Minimal Dub 
18. D Double E – Street Fighter

September 11, 2010, 4:22 pm
Filed under: dubstep, Electronic, music | Tags: ,

Mshini Wam by Spoek Mathambo was released about two weeks ago and is available for purchase on iTunes!!

The hype on the South African youngster however was there long before the album dropped. The two previous music video’s to the tracks Mshini Wam and Gwababa Gwababa (don’t be scared) had a lot of blogosphere attention.

Strangely enough the video your about to stream, however cool, got a lot less attention but I think that is because there are not many people who know the video to the track war on words is already out. This one is a little bit different from the previous two in the sense that there are more dramatics involved and the very tangible African vibe is kinda absent from this track. Personally…I dig but see what you think…

September 6, 2010, 10:39 pm
Filed under: dubstep, Electronic, music | Tags:

Magnetic Man is a live electronic music project consisting of dubstep producers and DJs Skream, Benga and Artwork. They signed to Columbia Records in February 2010.

Their first single on the label, I Need Air was released on the 26th July 2010 and kinda caught my attention. Subsequently they released the next single Perfect Stranger featuring Katy B and this one got me to nod my head and stomp my feet a little. Below you can stream the track  Going Nowhere featuring none other than John Legend and this one got me to write the post and allert you on their upcoming selftitled album scheduled for release on the 11 October 2010. More info and tracklist when you click here and to know why you need to check out the tracklist click on the audio stream below.

Magnetic Man feat. John Legend – Going Nowhere

August 24, 2010, 1:04 am
Filed under: dub, dubstep, music, music video | Tags: , ,

There is a lot I could write about this track but ….HELL YEAH!!… is all that comes to mind…Enjoy.

Andreya Triana – A Town Called Obsolete (Mount Kimbie Remix) by strangefruitmusic
August 7, 2010, 2:28 pm
Filed under: alternative, Download, dubstep, Electronic, music, soul

First recognized for her vocal talents on Flying Lotus’s ‘Tea Leaf Dancers’, Andreya Triana has also worked with Mr. Scruff, Theo Parrish, Mala and more recently Bonobo, whose critically acclaimed LP ‘Black Sands’ featured her on three tracks. She has spent the summer touring with Bonobo throughout the UK, Europe and North America, culminating in an unforgettable headline performance at the Roundhouse in London.

August 2010 will see the release of her debut solo album ‘Lost Where I Belong’, produced by Bonobo, which is already receiving widespread praise from critics across the board.

To celebrate this release, we are giving away a very special remix of Andreya’s latest single ‘A Town Called Obsolete’ by largely hyped producers of the moment – Mount Kimbie. Label mates of Joy Orbison on Hotflush Records, the duo string Andreya’s backing vox over melancholy pads like Christmas lights round the screen of a lovelorn mainframe.

The Ninja Tune XX compilation sees the release of a brand new Bonobo & Andreya Triana track – ‘Wonder When’ – and there is also an exclusive remix from dubstep pioneer Mala as part of the XX series. She will be performing solo sets throughout selected XX Events and an exclusive trio with Bonobo and Fink in Berlin and Paris.


August 6, 2010, 10:50 pm
Filed under: breakbeat, dubstep, music

C.O.N.E and SuggestiveMusic are proud to present the new label Footsteppa. Footsteppa is distributed by Triple Vision and will release on,, iTunes and many other major download stores. A single or Ep will be released every 5th of the month and to make sure you are in the know you can follow Footsteppa on

Since Footsteppa is just starting out they have two releases to their name at this point and if you are into a mix of dubstep, broken beat and dance hall I promise you, you will be instantly hooked.

The first single  by C.O.N.E  Step to it was released a while ago and contains three very hot tracks. It’s available on beatport and to buy click here. The track on this release I dig the most has got to be Jungle feat. Saralima.

Jungle feat. Saralima

On the 5th of august the second release was launched Gringo Lingo by U.K. rapper Yungun. It contains two tracks and you can purchase it on Beatport when you click here.

Gringo Lingo pt-2 C.O.N.E. remix ft. Vice Man and Maya Jupiter

With all this certified booty shaking material it’s obvious Footsteppa has serious plans to shake up the music scene and if they keep putting out tracks like these every 5th of the month they probably will!!