Strangefruitmusic's Blog

September 5, 2010, 5:48 pm
Filed under: latin, mix, music | Tags: ,

Strangefruitmusicblog aims to keep readers up to speed on everything musical and we think y’all should know about de Echte Boter: Tropical Edicion party on the 10 of September hosted by Rundfunk. For more info on what to expect click here (info in Dutch).

Why should you know about this?! … Because even though this is not strictly up the Strange Fruit alley it’s kinda dope and we think so because of the very hot tropical latin mix Rundfunk provided us with available for download and tracklist info when you click here.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

August 6, 2010, 7:57 pm
Filed under: Download, latin, mix, music | Tags:

Hell yeah … after all the electronics and hip hop it’s time for a seriously ill latin mix…I know you are going to enjoy. Before you start downloading make sure you have some dancing shoes and drinks cause whatever mood your in right now get ready to be festive!! An excellent selection of Latin tunes by Jonas Imbery… (source: GOMMA)

if you press the arrow on the right side of the soundcloud music wave (you know…the small one underneath the info button) you can download this straight to your computer!!

July 10, 2010, 1:00 pm
Filed under: latin, music, music video | Tags:

A summery collaboration with Cecilia Stalin and dj/producer Waiwan!! Video by Sebastian Pheifer (Everfresh)

Play it loud in the sun or kick back and enjoy the summer coming to you as you float away into the memories of your days off in the sun!!!!

July 4, 2010, 12:40 am
Filed under: alternative, Electronic, Hip Hop, latin, music, music video | Tags: ,

Martin Parks are Jacque Hammond & Roman Lee and they have an awesome album called Barefoot that is available on their bandcamp site, and y’all really need to hear this!! They boxed themselves into the hiphop/soul/jazz  category and even though that is basically their sound….it does not quite cover it.  Whatever their sound is supposed to be I really Loooooooooooove this with a capital L!!

Martin Parks want to be revolutionaries in the music industry. Modeling their music path after two great revolutionaries in history, Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa Parks: Hence the name “Martin Parks”. Martin Parks wishes to make history, again. If they are able to keep up what they did on the Barefoot album, the history thing just might be in their future. Anyways sit tight because this duo is just getting started!

Label Love (free download) by strangefruitmusic
June 23, 2010, 10:56 pm
Filed under: Download, Electronic, funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, latin, music | Tags: , , ,

Label Love is an eclectic yet unified bundle of unique sounds compiled simply for the love of sharing them with the universe – each track plucked and presented by label heads from Bastard Jazz, ESL, Fania, Now Again, Plug Research, Tru Thoughts and Ubiquity. 

Each label evokes it’s own signature swagger giving this collection a diversified and interesting flow of genres. Label Love consists of nostalgic classics, fresh unreleased gems and other dope selections with the goal of expanding minds to new styles, vibrations and colors. 

Seu Jorge – Seu Jorge and Almaz (free download) by strangefruitmusic
June 1, 2010, 5:09 pm
Filed under: latin, music | Tags: , ,

Brazilian singer and actor Seu Jorge and his band Almaz have signed to Now-Again Records. Their album – Seu Jorge and Almaz– will be released on 07.27.10 in North America to coincide with a sixteen-city North American tour. The first single from the album – a cover of Roy Ayers’ “Everybody Loves The Sunshine” – is out on 12″ vinyl in mid-June and is available as a digital exclusive at Stones Throw’s webstore now.

MP3: Seu Jorge & Almaz – Everybody Loves The Sunshine

Download: Ahu Exclusive Fact Mix (three weeks available) by strangefruitmusic
May 22, 2010, 6:47 pm
Filed under: Download, latin, music, Old Soul, Other, pop, Psychedelic | Tags: , , ,

One of the ortist that keeps showing up in our playlist is Ahu (pictured above) . The young Turkish singer, full name Ahu Kelesoglu, has already built up quite a reputation for her collaborations with Flying Lotus, Mr Beatnick and others – it was she, under the name Dolly, who contributed the sublime, dusky vocal to Flying Lotus’s ‘Robertaflack’. At the moment she is focussing on her solo work inspired by house, techno, the golden age of jazz singers, European movie soundtracks and much else besides, we reckon Ahu’s really going to be one to watch in the months and years that lie ahead. This wonderful mixtape for FACT includes music from Brigitte Bardot, Daedalus and Matthew Herbert and two unreleased tracks by Portishead’s Beth Gibbons. Listen, read and enjoy.

Download: Ahu – Exclusive FACT mix
(Available for three weeks)

1. Beth Gibbons – from L’Annulaire (Soundtrack) – Unreleased
2. Beth Gibbons – from L’Annulaire (Soundtrack) – Unreleased
3. Georges Delerue – Aveux D’Anne A Muriel – Universal
4. Serge Gainsbourg -L’hotel Particulier – Philips
5. Brigitte Bardot – Rose D’eau – Philips 1963
6. Piero Umiliani – Crystal – Cinevox
7. Luis Bacalov – Paraguana – EMG
8. Joao Donato – Me Deixa – Odeon
9. Vladimir Cosma – Les Vacances D’Alexandre – Pomme
10. Armando Trovaioli – Please Be Nice – United Artists Records
11. Piero Piccioni – End Title – Easy Tempo
12. Daedelus – Fin De Siecle – Brainfeeder
13. From American Dad // Roger // The Sad story of Oscar Gold
14. Matthew Herbert – Leipzig – Accidental
15. Flying Lotus – German Haircut – Warp
16. Gonjasufi – Change – Warp
17. Jamie Lidell – I Can Love Again – Warp
18. From American Dad // Roger & Stan //
19. Amy Winehouse – Trilby – Unreleased
20. Erykah Badu – Gone Baby , Don’t Be Long
21. Oddisee ft. Olivier Daysoul – In The Now – Cdr
22. Eric Lau – Always Will (Inst.) – Kilawatt
23. Jarvis Cocker – Discosong – (Pilooski mix ) – Cdr