Strangefruitmusic's Blog

4heros dego mixes it up fot spinetv by strangefruitmusic
November 12, 2010, 1:53 am
Filed under: mix | Tags: , ,

Forging the way in the breakbeat and hardcore scenes of the ’90’s, 4hero‘s Mark “Marc Mac” Claire and Dennis “Dego” McFarlane haven’t been content to lay dormant in these years, continuing to release records that explore the sounds of nu jazz, soul, and hip-hop. Now a resident of New York City, Dego focuses much of his energy on his 2000Black label (appropriately named after the Roy Ayers song) where he shares Ayers’ auspicious hopes about the black community’s future with a roster of future-minded artists. Dego’s role in 4hero not only positions him to play curator to the next generation of influential artists, it obviously makes him an excellent, crate-digging DJ. Dego’s recent mix for SpineTV has these talents on display, adding particular insight into Dego’s awareness of what’s current in the UK electronic music scene. Young hopeful James Blake makes an appearance, alongside new tracks from Martyn and Wiley, fleshing out an eclectic mix that spans Dilla to McCartney. A tracklist and link to the mix are below.

Dego Guest Mix for SpineTV


1. Benny Golson – Always Dancing to the Music
2. Paul White – My Guitar Whales
3. Just-Ice – Cold Getting Dumb
4. J-Dilla – For Gods Sake
5. Wiley – The Elusive Intro
6. Mono-Poly – Oil Fields
7. Oriol – Shay-Lo
8. Keno Duke – Some Other Time
9. Kurt Rosenwinkle – Interlude
10. The Invisible – Spiral
11. Gretchen Parlato – Weak
12. James Blake – CMYK
13. Martyn – The Only Choice
14. Kaidi Tatham – 2001Dem
15. Paul McCartney – Secret Friend
16. Andreya Triana – Lost Where I Belong'(Flying Lotus Remix)
17. Ravi Shankar – Temp
18. Stanley Clark – Concerto for Jazz-Rock Orchestra Part 2
19. Soul Litchfield – Floppy 9
20. Jean Grae & 9th Wonder – The Time Is Now Ft. Phonte
21. The Upsetters – Chim Cherie
22. Burning Spear – Civilize Reggae

Havana Cultura Band – Think Twice (4 hero remix) (free download) by strangefruitmusic
April 11, 2010, 2:59 pm
Filed under: Download, latin | Tags: , , , , , ,

The cd from Gilles Peterson’s Havana Cultura Band featured a nice re-interpretation of the J Dilla track “Think Twice”. For the forthcoming “Gilles Peterson Presents Havana Cultura Remixed” project this new version is remixed by Marc Mac of 4hero. Other remixes for this project feature Louie Vega, MJ Cole & our last Strange Fruit clubnight guest Seiji. Download and listen to the 4 hero mix here.