Strangefruitmusic's Blog




Buy on iTunes

Ghostpoet x ROX – “To Something” by strangefruitmusic
August 28, 2010, 6:15 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , ,

New music from UK emcee Ghostpoet, who recently inked a deal with Gilles Peterson‘s Brownswood Recordings and released the well-received The Sound Of Strangers EP.

“To Something” features hotly tipped soulful UK singer/songwriter Rox

Owiny Sigoma Band by strangefruitmusic
July 30, 2010, 11:45 pm
Filed under: Afrobeat, music video | Tags: , ,

In 2009, a handful of London-based musicians travelled to Nairobi in Kenya to collaborate with two local musicians: Joseph Nyamungo and Charles Okoko, who hail from a village up country called Owiny Sigoma. The workshop/rehearsals were a lot of fun and pretty fruitful so they set about finding a studio that could accomodate a 7-piece live band. The resulting four tracks made their way to Gilles Peterson who promptly signed the band to his Brownswood imprint and sent the boys back to Nairobi for another week-long recording session with Joseph, Charles and their extended musical family.

Soon come: Brownswood Electr*c Compilation by strangefruitmusic
May 13, 2010, 7:23 pm
Filed under: Electronic, music | Tags: , , ,

Brownswood Electr*c celebrates the spirit of invention, the commitment to experimentation and the hybridity that characterises contemporary sound system culture in the worldwide underground. It drops on 28th June 2010 on CD/download via Brownswood Recordings. There will also be a 12″ featuring B. Bravo and Eliphino. The dope sleeve art comes courtesy of KARBORN.

01 B. Bravo – Computa Love
02 devonwho – Whispers
03 Eliphino – Let Me Love You Forever
04 Pearson Sound – Wad
05 Mosca – Square One
06 Shlohmo – Antigravity (Low Limit Remix)
07 Letherette – Blad
08 KiEnRa – BB Thing
09 16bit – ADSL
10 Hypno – Over The Top
11 George Fitzgerald – Painted Jezebel
12 Clueless – Lady In Red (Club Edit)
13 Von D – Berlin Call (Alps Edit)
14 Rockwell – Underpass
15 Mount Kimbie – Serged

Fulgeance covers Jose James by strangefruitmusic
April 17, 2010, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Jazz, music | Tags: , ,

The original is taken from José’s second album Blackmagic, here comes a version of “The Greater Good” produced by French beat honcho Fulgeance. On his soundcloud Fulgeance says he s returning with this song to his first like in music soulfull and jazzy. Hopefully he will keep making this returns. 

Half Seas Over – Long Way (free download) by strangefruitmusic
April 17, 2010, 11:41 am
Filed under: Download, Jazz, music | Tags: , , ,

Half Seas Over is a brand new project from acclaimed pianist Elan Mehler who, while working together with singer-songwriter Adam McBride-Smith on ‘The After Suite’ (Brownswood, 2009) discovered a rich vein of material in the melding of their compositional styles. Their partnership flourished and the two have written an astonishing batch of tender, richly cinematic songs, with moments of subtle revelation that draw on folk and rock music as much as jazz.

You can download the song long way for free on there soundcloud below

Havana Cultura Band – Think Twice (4 hero remix) (free download) by strangefruitmusic
April 11, 2010, 2:59 pm
Filed under: Download, latin | Tags: , , , , , ,

The cd from Gilles Peterson’s Havana Cultura Band featured a nice re-interpretation of the J Dilla track “Think Twice”. For the forthcoming “Gilles Peterson Presents Havana Cultura Remixed” project this new version is remixed by Marc Mac of 4hero. Other remixes for this project feature Louie Vega, MJ Cole & our last Strange Fruit clubnight guest Seiji. Download and listen to the 4 hero mix here.

Brownswood Bubblers 5 by strangefruitmusic
February 26, 2010, 10:32 pm
Filed under: music, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Brownswood number 5 will drop on the 8th of March. I think this compilation goes faster with it’s volumes then lots of other compilations. But the quality control is still there at the Brownswood headquarters. This time it’s a very tasty affair. I think even better than the other volumes. I wasn’t that sure about the volume 4. But with artist such as Ron BasejamElectric Wire HustleNailah and Shafiq Husayn you can t go wrong! 

Expect some already known Worldwide anthems and some new and unknown stuff. To buy this compilation you can click here

Worldwide Podcast with Mala by strangefruitmusic
January 18, 2010, 11:03 pm
Filed under: mix | Tags: , , ,

Mala (Digital Mystikz/DMZ/DEEP MEDi Musik)  joines Gilles Peterson in the Brownswood Basement for a chat about his musical roots, dubplate culture, the evolution of the dubstep movement, and of course to spin some of his favourite records – past, present and future.

Gilles Peterson Worldwide Vol 2. No. 15 (download here)
01. Mala – Level 9
02. Mala – Livin’ Different
03. Mala – Education
04. Burning Spear – Door Peeper
05. Little Roy – Hurt Not The Earth
06. Augustus Pablo – East Of The River Nile
07. Steve Reich – New York Counterpoint
08. Quest – Smooth Skin
09. Jill Scott – Slowly Surely (Theo Parrish Remix)
10. Mizz Beats – My World