Strangefruitmusic's Blog

May 17, 2010, 10:46 pm
Filed under: Download, Electronic, latin, mix, music | Tags: ,

if you press the arrow on the right side of the soundcloud music wave (you know…the small one underneath the info button) you can download this straight to your computer!!


1. Roforofo Fight (Louie Vega Remix)
2. Chekere Son (Alex Patchwork Remix)
3. Rezando (Michel Cleis Remix)
4. La Revolucion del Cuerpo (Skinner’s Owiney Sigoma Mix)
5. Afrodisia (Rainer Trueby Remix)
6. Lagrimas de Soledad (No Existen Palabras) (d’Wala Riddimix)
7. Think Twice (4hero Remix feat. Danay & Carina)

The album ‘Gilles Peterson presents Havana Cultura: Remixed’ is released on 7th June 2010 via Brownswood Recordings. Watch out for two very special 12″s too.


Havana Cultura Band – Think Twice (4 hero remix) (free download)


Havana Cultura Band – Think Twice (4 hero remix) (free download) by strangefruitmusic
April 11, 2010, 2:59 pm
Filed under: Download, latin | Tags: , , , , , ,

The cd from Gilles Peterson’s Havana Cultura Band featured a nice re-interpretation of the J Dilla track “Think Twice”. For the forthcoming “Gilles Peterson Presents Havana Cultura Remixed” project this new version is remixed by Marc Mac of 4hero. Other remixes for this project feature Louie Vega, MJ Cole & our last Strange Fruit clubnight guest Seiji. Download and listen to the 4 hero mix here.

March 26, 2010, 8:34 am
Filed under: interview, latin, music | Tags: ,

Yep another Strangefruitmuscblog summer tip coming up for ya’ll. Something Gilles Peterson has been working on and that is going to be available via Bronswood Recordings very soon. To get as excited as I am…..I am going to let Gilles Peterson do the talking and explain what it is he has been working on.

Interested?!  Watch the video below…. 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Havana Cultura is actually two CDs. The first disc contains the 12 original tracks Gilles recorded with his hand-picked “Havana Cultura Band,” led by pianist Roberto Fonseca. The CD features some outstanding guest appearances from Mayra Caridad Valdés, Ogguere, Danay, Francis Del Rio and Obsesión. To get a feel of what that sounds like click on the soundcloud below….

Forthcoming on ‘Gilles Peterson presents Havana Cultura: Remixed’ on CD/Download via Brownswood Recordings. Louie Vega Remix 12″ coming soon.

The second disc is a compilation of 16 previously released and unreleased tracks, drawing from more top Cuban talent: Los Aldéanos, Telmary, Yusa, Kelvis Ochoa, Doble Filo, Descemer Bueno, Gente de Zona, Harold Lopez Nussa, Kumar, Free Hole Negro, Cubanito 20.02, Wichy de Vedado and Tony Rodriguez. The CD packaging was designed by Alexandre Arrechea, one of Cuba’s brightest art stars.

For more details on Havana Cultura, audio and downloads click here